The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (abbreviated ARMM) is an autonomous region of the Philippines, located in the Mindanao island group of the Philippines, that consists of five predominantly Muslim provinces: Basilan (except Isabela City), Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi. It is the only region that has its own government. The region’s de facto seat of government is Cotabato City, although this self-governing city is outside of its jurisdiction. The ARMM spans two geographical areas: Lanao del Sur and Maguindanao (except Cotabato City) in southwestern Mindanao, and the island provinces of Basilan (except Isabela City), Sulu and Tawi-Tawi in the Sulu Archipelago. ARMM is one of the country’s top producers of fish and marine resources.



  • Basilan
  • Lanao Del Sur
  • Maguindanao
  • Sulu
  • Tawi-tawi

Journal of a Pinoy Adventurer

%d bloggers like this: