Caraga, officially known as the Caraga Administrative Region or simply Caraga Region and designated as Region XIII, is an administrative region in the Philippines occupying the northeastern section of the island of Mindanao. The region comprises five provinces: Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur and Dinagat Islands; six cities: Butuan, Cabadbaran, Surigao City, Tandag, Bislig and Bayugan; 67 municipalities and 1,311 barangays. Butuan is the regional administrative center. The etymology of Caraga is said to have originated from the native word Kalag which means “spirit of soul”. The region contains one of the last ecological frontiers of the Philippines. It is home to 12 Key Biodiversity Areas identified by Haribon Foundation and the Philippine Department of Environment and Natural Resources.



  • Agusan Del Norte
  • Agusan Del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Surigao Del Norte
  • Surigao Del Sur

Journal of a Pinoy Adventurer

%d bloggers like this: